Jul 21, 2024  
2021-2022 Saint Joseph’s College Online Catalog 
2021-2022 Saint Joseph’s College Online Catalog [Archived Catalog]

The Catechism for Catechists Certificate

The Catechism for Catechists Certificate (TH 15) provides intellectual formation for catechists and can serve as the doctrinal component for diocesan catechist certification programs. For those serving as parish catechists or teaching the Catholic faith in the Catholic school system, as well as those interested in general adult faith formation, it enables students to develop an understanding and appreciation of the Catholic faith. 

Learning Outcomes

  • To understand and articulate the foundations of Catholic Doctrine
  • To be able to converse on matters of Sacred Scripture
  • To differentiate between missions and natures of the Trinity and the Church
  • To explain the Liturgy and the Sacraments
  • To discern the different aspects of Catholic Spirituality
  • To understand and articulate Catholic moral teaching.

The Certificate is divided into six units, with a multiple-choice self-assessment quiz for each unit. Students can take the self-assessment multiple times before proceeding to the next unit when a satisfactory grade is reached. Throughout the course, an online instructor is available to answer any questions students may have regarding the material. 

Program Overview
Unit 1: Foundations of Catholic Doctrine
Lesson 1:         Divine Revelation and Its Sources
Lesson 2:         Catholic Worldview and the Role Faith Plays in the Church
Unit 2: Sacred Scripture
Lesson 3:         Old Testament: Major Themes, Key Figures/Events
Lesson 4:         New Testament: Major Themes, Key Figures/Events
Unit 3: The Trinity and the Church
Lesson 5:         The Trinity: Mission, Nature and Role
Lesson 6:         The Church: Mission, Nature and Role
Unit 4: Liturgy and Sacraments
Lesson 7:         Liturgy: Seasons, Calendar and the Eucharist as Source and Summit
Lesson 8:         Sacraments: Initiation, Vocation and Healing
Unit 5: Catholic Spirituality
Lesson 9:         Spirituality and the Tradition of Prayer
Lesson 10:       The Life of Prayer and the Lord’s Prayer
Unit 6: Catholic Morality
Lesson 11:       The Human Person, Beatitude, and the First Three Commandments; Freedom and Choice; Virtue and Vice
Lesson 12:       Catholic Social Doctrine: The Family at the Heart of Society and the Christian Morality of Marriage; The Commandments: Five, Seven, Eight, and Ten
Required Texts

A Bible and the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

A certificate is granted at the completion of the course.