The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

    Saint Joseph's College: Online Programs
  Jan 19, 2018
2017-2018 Saint Joseph’s College Online
[Add to Portfolio]

TH 610 - Theology of Orders: Bishop, Priest, Deacon

This course reviews the contemporary teaching of the Catholic Church regarding the sacrament of Holy Orders in the degrees/orders of deacon, priest, and bishop. The course examines theological foundations of the sacrament in the New Testament, its development throughout the history of the Church, the teaching of Vatican II on the relationship of the priesthood of the faithful and the ministerial priesthood, the restored diaconate, and the Church’s teaching on the Catholic priesthood and women.

Prerequisites & Notes
TH 580

This prerequisite may be waved in special circumstances with the permission of the Theology Program Director.

Assignment Overview

  • Assignments: 5 Units
  • Interactivity: Discussion Board
  • Final Assessment: Final Paper 

Course Learning Objectives
Upon completion of this course, you should be able to do the following:

  • Discuss the relationship of the sacraments of Baptism and Holy Orders to the Priesthood of Christ.
  • Identify the connection between the development of the doctrine of the degrees/orders of ministerial priesthood and their roots in the New Testament.
  • Explain the essential difference between the priesthood of the faithful and the sacrament of order of Holy Orders.
  • Distinguish the three orders/degrees of the sacrament of Holy Orders:  deacon, priest, and bishop.
  • Understand and articulate the teachings of the Magisterium on the male priesthood and diaconate.

Credits: 3

[Add to Portfolio]